Author Topic: Need help with ES Beaver and Ribbon worm  (Read 782 times)

Offline Jkwbwca

• Yearling
Need help with ES Beaver and Ribbon worm
« on: 09/11/17 20:06 UTC »
I just got 3 new molds today...2 ES Beavers and  1ES Ribbon worm.  Both beaver molds are getting dimples on the bottom of all injections from both molds...tried multiple clamp positions, holding for 10 sec., multiple temps.
The ribbon tail I'm also getting dimples and can't seem to fill the tail of the bottom worm.
I'm a rookie and definitely feeling like one tonight...thanks in advance for any help.

Online andrewlamberson

• Lunker
Re: Need help with ES Beaver and Ribbon worm
« Reply #1 on: 09/11/17 21:11 UTC »
On the ribbon worm, rub some worm oil on the tail section time improve the flow.  Hot plastic will also increase flow. I shoot it at 350 until the mold gets hot.

I get dimples on the beaver molds also. I fixed it by shooting cool (310)..but make sure you get the plastic to 350 on the initial heat.

The other thing that helps is using a "reinforcer"... like string glitter or large glitter. That can help overcome "differential shrinking"... when the hot, slow cooling body "sucks in" a weak spot (the skin) as it shrinks.

Holding pressure on the injector can help also but it is a safety hazard to push hard on an injector with hot plastic in it so I keep an empty injector ready to add pressure after I fill the mold. On some molds I hold it for a 30 count.

Most of the time the cooler plastic minimizes the problem.
« Last Edit: 09/11/17 21:18 UTC by andrewlamberson »
" You can't buy happiness...But you can buy fishing gear...and that's kind of the same thing"

Offline Jkwbwca

• Yearling
« Reply #2 on: 09/11/17 22:16 UTC »
Thanks Andy...I'll give those tips a try.
It's crazy how all molds behave differently.

Online andrewlamberson

• Lunker
« Reply #3 on: 09/12/17 11:39 UTC »
Not only do all molds shoot a little different.