Author Topic: New guy with questions.  (Read 1454 times)

Offline Ridgeking

• Minnow
New guy with questions.
« on: 01/02/18 19:19 UTC »
Hello everyone,
I'm a new guy to lure making although I've been tying flies for fly fishing for about twenty years. I've always wanted to get into lure making as well to supply myself with "custom" baits for my own use. I plan to get started molding jigs and blade baits this spring as well as airbrushing my own cranks and hardbaits. I've been lurking here and reading posts for a while and I think I have the jig making and blade bait making understood pretty well but I'm still pretty lost in regard to airbrushing. I'd like to buy my first airbrush and compressor etc.. but really don't know what to buy. I'd rather not spend a huge amount on them if I don't need to but, of course, if there are real world reasons why I should....
 I'm hoping someone would be willing to offer me some good solid advice in regard to getting started. I don't understand why some airbrushes and compressors cost so much more than others. What do I need to spend to get a decent set up? What features should I be looking for? Would anyone care to recommend a set up?

Thanks in advance,
Don

Online ctom

• Lunker
Re: New guy with questions.
« Reply #1 on: 01/02/18 20:38 UTC »
Welcome aboard Ridgeking....

Buy a pancake compressor. I got mine at Harbor Freight for $35.00 and the built in regulator works fine thus far.  They run about $50 and will do a good job as a starter. Maybe buy a regulator/moisture filter with it. For the brush, I'll suggest the Badger Patriot. About $75. You'll need to order the air hose for it . I don't recommend that you buy cheap on the brush as you'll only run into frustration. The Patriot is simple to use and simple to clean and will do a fine job for you. I have the Patriot and chose it over Iwata and Paasche brushes. You can do better on pricing on the brushes over the internet rather than in brick and mortar stores.