Author Topic: Scents.....do they make sense?  (Read 229 times)

Online ctom

• Lunker
Scents.....do they make sense?
« on: 11/04/18 08:43 UTC »
Here's a broad topic to ponder. Its got tons of opinions and tons of speculation. Its also a topic that has merit when it comes to fish and how these things work.

I'm not a scientist so mostly all I have is observation and I feel I am pretty good in that department so I'll share what I notice.

Lots of banter goes around about all these various scent used in or on plastic baits but I feel that unless any scent can actually be sensed by a fish's smelling  organs its useless. Notice I said "sensed", because fish do not have the sensory devices we have and cannot "smell" as we do.
I think at the top of the pile Berkley scientists as well as some on the Trigger X products side of things are standing tall. I've had more than a great amount of success using all three brands....Trigger X, PowerBait and Gulp. Trigger X is probably more on the bottom of the heap since I generally don't see a need to go much further than Gulp or PowerBait, depending on what I am fishing.