Author Topic: Slow death spinnerbait  (Read 5103 times)

Offline ryno

• Minnow
Slow death spinnerbait
« on: 06/23/16 15:34 UTC »
This is my first attempt at a 1oz spinner bait with a slow death hook.  Looking for some input from you expert spinnerbaits guys.  This bait is pretty plain for now since in prototype mode.

I am targeting walleyes in flooded trees.  Typically I troll a traditional 1 ouncer with #6 or #7 willow off the swivel and #4 below it with various skirts.  The walleye this year are more interested in Lindy rigs or spinner harnesses with crawlers.  The obvious problem is snagn up alot with that presentation.  So I'm in search of a downsized bait from my fav of the traditional 1oz spinnerbait.  The slow death is somewhat less snag proned than a live bait hook. 

This prototype I have pictured is 1oz with #4willow blade.  I went with a shorter lower arm and near standard upper (to get a lil separation between blade and bait). I haven't put it in the water yet to see how it trolls.  I'm hoping the single #4 is enough to keep it true.  I just ordered some royal blades to hopefully allow for a slower troll speed.  The goal here is a slower trolling bait with smaller presentation size to offer nightcrawlers to these timber eye's.  Any advice/input very much welcomed.

Offline Mike J

• Lunker
Re: Slow death spinnerbait
« Reply #1 on: 06/23/16 16:49 UTC »
This is very interesting to me. I fish some situations like your talking about for walleyes too. I've never even thought of using a spinnerbait. I don't know much about spinnerbait so I'm not going to be any help, but I would like to know more about how you fish this.
« Last Edit: 06/23/16 18:54 UTC by Mike J »

Offline Muskygary

• Lunker
« Reply #2 on: 06/23/16 18:05 UTC »
You will have to see how it runs in the water. I think the overhead arm will have to be shorter with the lower hook arm being longer, but like I said You'll have to see how it works.

Offline Fatman

• Lunker