Author Topic: Pyrex vs anchor hocking  (Read 6077 times)

Offline jones02

• Yearling
Pyrex vs anchor hocking
« on: 02/06/17 18:25 UTC »
Has anyone used both? They both are rated for 425-450. I've been using the anchor hocking measuring cups but just wondering if anyone is been using them for awhile or should I be switching?

Offline Lines

• Lunker
Re: Pyrex vs anchor hocking
« Reply #1 on: 02/06/17 18:26 UTC »
Anchor Hocking for 5 years now.

Offline Mike J

• Lunker
« Reply #2 on: 02/06/17 21:00 UTC »
I've been using anchor for 3 years now. No problems. I hear people say they aren't as good but I don't have any real Pyrex so it works for me.

Online ctom

• Lunker
« Reply #3 on: 02/06/17 21:07 UTC »
The only Pyrex I have seen problems with or heard of others having issues is the blue tinted Pyrex. The blue stuff is terrible. Check the bottoms of the cups to see if they are microwave safe....it'll be stamped in the glass if they are and will say oven and microwave safe.

Online Fishermanbt

• Kicker
« Reply #4 on: 02/07/17 06:07 UTC »
I have been using Anchor cups for awhile now with no issues. Out of caution or just plane fear I started using the cheap beverage insulators that are made out of a thin neoprene like material. Got mine free from a hunting and fishing show. The thought was if the cup decides to fail the majority of the shrapnel and molten plastic will be contained allowing me to leave dodge. It also keeps me from banging it about against molds and what not.

Offline Lines

• Lunker
« Reply #5 on: 02/07/17 06:10 UTC »
That is an excellent idea. Thanks for sharing Fishermanbt.

Online ctom

• Lunker
« Reply #6 on: 02/07/17 07:38 UTC »
The plastic in the cup stays warmer longer too.

Offline Denny Welch

• Lunker
    • Believe Baits
« Reply #7 on: 02/07/17 08:01 UTC »