Author Topic: Storing/Mixing Platisol?  (Read 1327 times)

Offline thamessxger

• Minnow
Storing/Mixing Platisol?
« on: 08/14/20 05:56 UTC »
So I’m just getting started with soft plastic craft. I have 1 gallon of plastisol from lureworks and I’m wondering 1) is it to be stored at room temperature? I’m gonna be making them in the garage but is it better to store inside I’m regards to temp and moisture? And 2) how do you mix 1 gallon jugs before pouring. I wanna make sure nothings settled, seems like shaking it would introduce a lot of air bubbles and pouring it first to stir it would defeat the purpose of stuff has already settled. Thank you in advance

Offline ctom

• Lunker
Re: Storing/Mixing Platisol?
« Reply #1 on: 08/14/20 06:26 UTC »
1) The plastic won't freeze and every day heat won't hurt it so storage is really moot. I work in a garage shop that I heat as needed when I work so during the really cold months I move the plastic to the house so I can avoid any condensation issues while cooking the plastic.

2) A gallon jug you can shake well to mix any settled portions.
There are good ships
and wood ships
ships that sail the sea
but the best ships are friendships
and may they
always be ......An Irish Toast

Offline thamessxger

• Minnow
« Reply #2 on: 08/14/20 06:31 UTC »
Thank you very much! Idk why I thought these really hot days would affect it.

Offline ctom

• Lunker
« Reply #3 on: 08/14/20 07:23 UTC »
Humidity can be an issue at times. If you have an air conditioned home or a dehumidified room in the house you can keep the large jug there to help eliminate humidity from the equation, but the plastic and colorants and other additives you may use will be quite stable in any temperature found in the lower 48.

I forgot to add, Welcome to the Do-It forums!
There are good ships
and wood ships
ships that sail the sea
but the best ships are friendships
and may they
always be ......An Irish Toast

Offline andrewlamberson

• Lunker