Author Topic: Choosing paints  (Read 1752 times)

Offline Ridgeking

• Minnow
Choosing paints
« on: 01/06/18 14:06 UTC »
So, I'm trying to put together a list of everything I'm going to need to get started painting plastic lure blanks and blade baits. I found this paint set on Amazon and thought it looks like a good starter set up for me. It is probable that I won't use every color here and I'll probably want more natural colors someday when I become good enough to start replicating real baitfish species but overall It seems like a good deal to a complete noob.....  Thoughts?

https://www.amazon.com/CREATEX-MASTER-AIRBRUSH-COLOR-OUNCE/dp/B0038DB2X0/ref=sr_1_13?s=arts-crafts&ie=UTF8&qid=1515268374&sr=1-13&keywords=createx+transparent+airbrush+paint
« Last Edit: 01/06/18 14:17 UTC by Ridgeking »

Offline ctom

• Lunker
Re: Choosing paints
« Reply #2 on: 01/06/18 14:55 UTC »
The first link with the Createx products is what I'd get. Its very complete color-wise and has the large bottle of cleaner and some nice mixing cups. You won't find that many paint colors by the bottle for that and the free shipping is a plus.
There are good ships
and wood ships
ships that sail the sea
but the best ships are friendships
and may they
always be ......An Irish Toast

Offline bassinfool

• Lunker
« Reply #3 on: 01/07/18 09:07 UTC »
That set will set you up right for a long time. As for natural colors, mixing and layering of those paints can get you there, it just takes time and practice.

Offline MO QWACK

• Lunker
« Reply #4 on: 01/07/18 15:48 UTC »
Those will work great!

Offline Ridgeking

• Minnow
« Reply #5 on: 01/07/18 17:29 UTC »