Author Topic: Small bubbles in plastisol  (Read 3476 times)

Offline Darryl Keighley

• Minnow
Small bubbles in plastisol
« on: 05/20/18 02:47 UTC »
Hi everyone i'm sure this question has been asked a thousand times. I am new to all this and was hoping some of the more experienced would part with some of there top tips for keeping the small bubbles that appear in my baits out i know
It does'nt affect the way they work but it does'nt look good . I am limited to plastisol brands so take that out of discussion
Would appreciate some tips to trial to see what works for me. Thanks in advance Darryl

Offline Lamar

• Lunker
Re: Small bubbles in plastisol
« Reply #1 on: 05/20/18 06:40 UTC »
  When I get the plastic up to temp I stir and let sit for a few seconds. Then I stick my injector in the bottom of the cup and draw plastic in. This eliminates all the bubbles that come to the top of the cup. Then I hold my injector up right and purge it till plastic comes out the top. Now when I inject it's pretty air bubble free.

Offline ctom

• Lunker
« Reply #2 on: 05/20/18 07:32 UTC »
Lots of things can toss you the micro-bubbles. As Lamar described, this is the way to fill the injector to help on bubbles. Here are some other thoughts:

*If you store your raw plastic where humidity is an issue, try keeping it in a room that's de-humidified and take only what you'll need for your injection session to your work area.

*If you are shaking or stirring vigorously to re-incorporate all of the components of your raw plastic, let it rest for ten minutes before using it.

*Washing and drying your cups can help get any film or contaminants off of them that might offer a place for moisture or air to hang on un-noticed.

*Pre-heating your cups in the micro-wave for 10-15 seconds, then wiping out with a clean dry paper towel before mixing your batches is a good practice to develop since glass and cool raw plastic being heated at microwave speeds can create air pockets.